Basketball Hall of Fame: Class of 2023 news, schedule and more

Dirk vs. the Heat's Big 3: Relive the drama of the 2011 NBA Finals (2:45)

Dirk Nowitzki and the Mavericks defeat LeBron James, Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh and the Heat in the 2011 NBA Finals. (2:45)

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame will enshrine a new class of legends in Springfield, Massachusetts, this summer. The full list of nominees from the North American and women's committees were unveiled in December. Finalists for enshrinement were announced ahead of NBA All-Star Weekend in Salt Lake City, and the full class was announced as part of the NCAA men's basketball Final Four weekend in Houston.

The Class of 2023 will be officially enshrined in the Hall of Fame on Saturday, Aug. 12. The new summer date reflects an effort for enshrinement weekend to be more accessible to fans and guests -- a change of date from recent celebrations that were held the week after Labor Day.

Enshrinement weekend will begin at Mohegan Sun in Connecticut on Friday, Aug. 11, with the tip-off celebration and awards gala, inclusive of the Class of 2023 jacket and ring presentation and the annual Hall of Fame Awards. The enshrinement ceremony will take place the following day in Springfield's historic Symphony Hall.

MORE: Inside the most clandestine hall of fame voting process in all of sports

Class of 2023: North American Committee

Gene Bess (coach)

  • All-time winningest college basketball coach across all levels

  • 1,300 wins in 50 seasons at Three Rivers Community College

Gary Blair (coach)

  • 852-348 in 37 seasons at Stephen F. Austin, Arkansas and Texas A&M

  • Won 2011 women's NCAA tournament title at Texas A&M

Pau Gasol (player)

  • 17.0 PPG, 9.2 RPG, 3.2 APG in 18 seasons with Grizzlies, Lakers, Spurs, Bulls and Bucks

  • Six-time All-Star, four-time All-NBA selection

  • Won NBA titles in 2009 and 2010 with Lakers

Becky Hammon (player)

  • 13.9 PPG, 3.8 APG in 16 seasons with Liberty and Stars

  • Six-time All-Star

  • Named to WNBA's 15th, 20th and 25th anniversary teams

David Hixon (coach)

  • Led Amherst College to 826 wins in 42 seasons

  • Named Division III Coach of the Year in 2007 and 2013

Gene Keady (coach)

  • Won 550 games in 27 seasons at Western Kentucky and Purdue

  • Won National Coach of the Year six times (1984, 1988, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000)

Dirk Nowitzki (player)

  • 20.7 PPG, 7.5 RPG, 2.4 APG in 21 seasons with Mavericks

  • 14-time All-Star, 12-time All-NBA selection; 2007 NBA MVP

  • Won 2011 NBA championship with Mavericks

Tony Parker (player)

  • 15.5 PPG, 5.6 APG in 18 seasons with Spurs and Hornets

  • Six-time All-Star, four-time All-NBA selection

  • Won NBA titles with Spurs in 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014

Gregg Popovich (coach)

  • NBA's all-time winningest coach with more than 1,360 wins with Spurs

  • Won NBA titles in 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014

Dwyane Wade (player)

  • 22.0 PPG, 4.7 RPG, 5.4 APG in 16 seasons with Heat, Bulls and Cavaliers

  • 13-time All-Star, eight-time All-NBA selection

  • Won NBA titles in 2006, 2012 and 2013 with Heat

Class of 2023: Direct Elect Committees

Women's Veterans Committee Enshrinee

  • 1976 U.S. Olympic Team (team)

Contributor Committee Enshrinee

  • Jim Valvano

International Committee Finalists

  • Jackie Chazalon

  • Mirza Delibasic

  • Dusan Ivkovic

  • Semen Khalipski

  • Vladimir Kondrashin

  • Eduardo Lamas

  • Marcos Leite

  • Shimon Mirrahi

  • Amaury Pasos

  • Manuel Sainz

  • Togo Soares

  • Ranko Zeravica

Veterans Committee Finalists

  • 1936 U.S. Olympic Team (team)

  • 1972 U.S. Olympic Team (team)

  • Dick Barnett (player)

  • Tom Blackburn (coach)

  • Sid Borgia (referee)

  • Charles Brown (player)*

  • Freddie Brown (player)*

  • Jack Coleman (player)

  • Charles Eckman (referee)

  • Leroy Edwards (player)

  • Leo Ferris (contributor)

  • Hy Gotkin (player)

  • Travis Grant (player)

  • Jack Hartman (coach)*

  • Cam Henderson (coach)

  • Robert Hopkins (player)

  • Charles Keinath (player)

  • Greg Kelser (player)*

  • Kentucky Wesleyan 1966, 1968, 1969 (team)

  • Bob Love (player)

  • Loyola of Chicago (team)

  • Billy Markward (contributor)

  • Ed McCluskey (coach)

  • Jack McKinney (contributor)

  • Bill Melchionni (player)*

  • Francis Meehan (player)

  • Lucias Mitchell (coach)

  • Donald "Dudey" Moore (coach)

  • Joe Mullaney (coach)

  • Willie Naulls (player)

  • North Catholic High School Junior Varsity (Philadelphia, PA) (team)

  • Don Otten (player)*

  • Philadelphia SPHAS (team)

  • Kevin Porter (player)*

  • Glenn Roberts (player)

  • Lennie Rosenbluth (player)

  • Kenny Sailors (player)

  • Fred Schaus (contributor)

  • Sam Schulman (contributor)

  • Paul Silas (player)

  • Dick Van Arsdale (player)

  • Tom Van Arsdale (player)

  • Lambert Will (contributor)*

  • Max Zaslofsky (player)

* First-time nominee

Recent Hall of Fame classes

2022: Sonny Boswell, Swin Cash, Larry Costello, Hugh Evans, Manu Ginobili, Tim Hardaway, Del Harris, Lou Hudson, Bob Huggins, Inman Jackson, George Karl, Radivoj Korac, Albert Pullins, Theresa Shank-Grentz, Marianne Stanley, Lindsay Whalen

2021: Val Ackerman, Rick Adelman, Chris Bosh, Bob Dandridge, Lowell Fitzsimmons, Howard Garfinkel, Yolanda Griffith, Lauren Jackson, Clarence Jenkins, Toni Kukoc, Pearl Moore, Paul Pierce, Bill Russell, Ben Wallace, Chris Webber, Jay Wright

2020: Patrick Baumann, Kobe Bryant, Tamika Catchings, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, Kim Mulkey, Barbara Stevens, Eddie Sutton, Rudy Tomjanovich

2019: Al Attles, Carl Braun, Charles "Chuck" Cooper, Vlade Divac, Bill Fitch, Bobby Jones, Sidney Moncrief, Jack Sikma, Tennessee A&I teams from 1957 to 1959, Wayland Baptist University teams of 1982-84, Teresa Weatherspoon, Paul Westphal

2018: Ray Allen, Maurice Cheeks, Charles "Lefty" Driesell, Grant Hill, Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, Tina Thompson, Dino Radja, Charlie Scott, Ora Mae Washington, Rod Thorn, Rick Welts, Katie Smith

2017: Robert Hughes, Tracy McGrady, Bill Self, Rebecca Lobo, Muffet McGraw, Mannie Jackson, Tom Jernstedt, Jerry Krause, Zack Clayton, Nick Galis, George McGinnis

2016: Zelmo Beaty, Darell Garretson, Allen Iverson, Tom Izzo, John McClendon, Yao Ming, Shaquille O'Neal, Cumberland Posey, Jerry Reinsdorf, Sheryl Swoopes